Food: Paella


Paella in a …paella pan.

PAELLA:

Pronounced: Pie-ay-yah (the two Ls, are pronounced like a y)

Paella is a Spanish dish (specifically Valencian) that consists of rice (calasparra or bomba), saffron, and olive oil. Most Paella is found with seafood mixed in – shrimp, mussels, lobster, etc. However, Paella can also be made with vegetables such as tomatoes and red bell peppers. Below are a few combinations you can try to make Paella with:

Seafood:

Since this was my first time making Paella myself, I pulled a recipe off of Food Network:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/seafood-paella-recipe.html

I can’t say it’s my “authentic” invention, however the recipe does work well! I made a few subtle changes such as more shrimp and less saffron (I was running out..).

vegetarian:

ALSO pulled off of Food network, I made this for a foodie party:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/robin-miller/vegetarian-paella-recipe.html

I can’t say I like it as much as the seafood Paella – I couldn’t get as strong of a taste – but it was still alright. The few changes I made to the recipe was less asparagus (half a bunch), more zucchini (a cup and…a quarter), and a pinch more paprika. Note that these changes are suited to my tastes and not to yours so experiment until you find your ideal taste!

chicken/non-seafood:

To be completely honest, I made the Chicken Paella just by replacing the seafood/shrimp in the above Seafood recipe with Chicken. It actually turned out quite delicious so it’s worth a try!

Have a delicious Paella adventure 🙂

Leave a Reply

